Pieces (or Bits)

With everything that’s happened in Paris this week I just want emergency kittens. Jeez.

#

I just returned from a writers retreat. For the uninitiated, this means a venue where writers are secluded, fed and watered, then left to concentrate on writing and sleeping to the exclusion of all else.

I’d never been to one before, but I found the experience positive. I got a whole lot of writing done, I met some interesting people, and the food was scrumptious. I’d definitely do it again.

#

My story Honourable Mention in the anthology Dangerous Games seems to be doing okay.

“In many instances, you are left wanting to know what happens next – Helen Marshall’s highly creepy tale, Paul Kearney’s Civil War re-enactment story and Tade Thompson’s effective updating of They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?, are prime examples”

I’m glad it seemed that way, but in fact I’ve never read the book or seen the movie of They Shoot Horses, Don’t They? , but I’m now hunting down a DVD version because the synopsis looks interesting.

Full review here.

#

Today I’m finishing up rewrites on a story called The Monkey House for Omenana Magazine. I just need to merge two characters into one and prune some unnecessary interactions and I’ll be good to go.

After that I’ll work on a story titled Bootblack for Hidden Youth. After that, I have to complete Mystery Project 1 (more on this later).

Other than these three, my only writing this year will be long-form.

That’s all the writing news.

#

I’m currently reading Hell’s Angels, by Hunter S. Thompson.

I thought I had read it before, but it turns out I only got half-way before I was seduced by new books.

Intense, with high re-read potential.

#

Be good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

