Random Thoughts

Hi!

Some randomness:

Game of Thrones, season 4 kicked off well. Arya Stark and The Hound are clearly a couple of some sort now, metaphorically speaking. They come complete with squabbles. The episode was good generally, with a good balance of dramatic elements. It did feel to me like a placeholder episode, with the writers moving devices around ilke chess pieces. I felt manipulated a bit, but then what else is drama but artifice? All narratives are full of manipulation, even non-fiction narratives. One could argue that non-fiction is more problematic because it always presents a compromise of what should or should not be said. A point of view is put forward.

*

I’ve crossed the 50,000 word barrier in my work-in-progress ‘Rosewater’.  Extermely difficult middle novel events. Difficult to write. This is where I say things like ‘this is absolute rubbish’ and ‘why did I start writing this’ and ‘short stories. I should stick to those’. I’ve written novels before, but none of them has been any good. The middle is always a hardship and I just know that when I get to the rewriting stage I am going to go batshit. Ah, well.

  *

 

I’m in a coffee shop doing  a writing binge. It helps, but not a lot.

*

 

I’m catching up with Dexter. On season 5 right now. That series has to be classed as sci-fi. Everything is so far-fetched. Dexter gets away with things so many times across so many years that the only explanation is that he’s Batman, but you know, a Batman who kills (which Batman totally used to do before the Comics Code castrated comics).

*

More later. Gotta put some more hours in on that WIP.

Leave a comment

April 12, 2014 · 16:43

Leave a Reply

