How Unreasonable Are You?

On Sundays I like to engage in self-improvement activity ™.

I wake up early and I read for about an hour. This could be fiction or non-fiction, as long as it takes book form rather than digital. I have nothing against digital content and I do own a Kindle, but I find most devices distracting. Whatever I read would usually be accompanied by music and a steaming cup of tea, herbal or otherwise.

Improvement would come in any realm. I usually want to improve my character in some way. I learn an easy way to remember names. I do some maths. I cook a new dish or a fresh variant of an old one. I dust off my old nemesis, the guitar.

Today I went to a cafe with my missus and played three games of mancala, or our family version. Then I read from ‘Steve Jobs’ by Walter Isaacson.

One of the first things I came across in the book was this:

“People who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do.” 

I think it sort of echoes George Bernard Shaw’s statement:

“The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.”

People certainly found Steve Jobs unreasonable. The book says: “Driven by demons, Jobs could drive those around him to fury and despair.”

Do brilliant innovators have to coax better performance from those around them? Yes. Does it have to be in a negative way? No (and I say that as a person who has driven people to fury and despair).  I’ve recently realised that rewards, recognition, modelling good behaviour,  these can get more out of people for less (emotional cost).

So: How unreasonable are you?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

