Sea Side Guy

Today I left the safe confines of my house with no destination in mind.

I’d had a busy time at work and needed to leave in order to engage with the world outside. I needed to encounter real life, whatever that was.

This is what I found out there:

ted

 

I don’t know who Ted Hinks was, but I’m sure posting this plaque  here will serve his memory. RIP, Ted.

 

dead

 

I love dead boats. There is a sadness to them and they smell like lost opportunity. I often wonder what lives the boat has touched and why it came to ruin.

 

pup

 

The puppet master gave these figurines a life that photography stripped off. The illusion of a few bits of cloth and wood playing a miniature violin was eerie.

 

deader

 

Another dead boat. A houseboat this time, and although it is clearly not seaworthy, the house seemed occupied.

boathouse

 

This is the detail on the door of the boathouse.

 

After wandering about on the seaside I hopped on a ferry, did some sketches, then headed for a cafe to meet friends.

I don’t feel more connected, but I still think it was the right thing to do.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

